git-annex-sync

git-annex-sync(1)           General Commands Manual          git-annex-sync(1)



NAME
       git-annex-sync - synchronize local repository with remotes

SYNOPSIS
       git annex sync [remote ...]

DESCRIPTION
       This command synchronizes the local repository with its remotes.

       The sync process involves first committing any local changes to files
       that have previously been added to the repository, then fetching and
       merging the current branch and the git-annex branch from the remote
       repositories, and finally pushing the changes back to those branches on
       the remote repositories. You can use standard git commands to do each
       of those steps by hand, or if you don't want to worry about the
       details, you can use sync.

       The content of annexed objects is not synced by default, but the
       --content option (see below) can make that also be synchronized.

       When using git-annex, often remotes are not bare repositories, because
       it's helpful to add remotes for nearby machines that you want to access
       the same annexed content. Syncing with a non-bare remote will not
       normally update the remote's current branch with changes from the local
       repository. (Unless the remote is configured with
       receive.denyCurrentBranch=updateInstead.)

       To make working with such non-bare remotes easier, sync pushes not only
       local master to remote master, but also to remote synced/master (and
       similar with other branches). When git-annex sync is later run on the
       remote, it will merge the synced/ branches that the repository has
       received.

OPTIONS
       [remote]

              By default, all remotes are synced, except for remotes that have
              remote.<name>.annex-sync set to false. By specifying the names
              of remotes (or remote groups), you can control which ones to
              sync with.

       --fast Only sync with the remotes with the lowest annex-cost value
              configured.

              When a list of remotes (or remote groups) is provided, it picks
              from amoung those, otherwise it picks from amoung all remotes.

       --only-annex -a, --not-only-annex
              Only sync the git-annex branch and annexed content with remotes,
              not other git branches.

              This avoids pulling and pushing other branches, and it avoids
              committing any local changes. It's up to you to use regular git
              commands to do that.

              The annex.synconlyannex configuration can be set to true to make
              this be the default behavior of git-annex sync. To override such
              a setting, use --not-only-annex.

              When this is combined with --no-content, only the git-annex
              branch will be synced.

       --commit, --no-commit
              A commit is done by default (unless annex.autocommit is set to
              false).

              Use --no-commit to avoid committing local changes.

       --message=msg
              Use this option to specify a commit message.

       --pull, --no-pull
              By default, syncing pulls from remotes and imports from some
              special remotes. Use --no-pull to disable all pulling.

              When remote.<name>.annex-pull or remote.<name>.annex-sync are
              set to false, pulling is disabled for those remotes, and using
              --pull will not enable it.

       --push, --no-push
              By default, syncing pushes changes to remotes and exports to
              some special remotes. Use --no-push to disable all pushing.

              When remote.<name>.annex-push or remote.<name>.annex-sync are
              set to false, or remote.<name>.annex-readonly is set to true,
              pushing is disabled for those remotes, and using --push will not
              enable it.

       --content, --no-content
              Normally, syncing does not transfer the contents of annexed
              files.  The --content option causes the content of annexed files
              to also be uploaded and downloaded as necessary.

              The annex.synccontent configuration can be set to true to make
              content be synced by default.

              Normally this tries to get each annexed file that is in the
              working tree and whose content the local repository does not yet
              have, and then copies each file to every remote that it is
              syncing with.  This behavior can be overridden by configuring
              the preferred content of a repository. See git-
              annex-preferred-content(1).

              When remote.<name>.annex-tracking-branch is configured for a
              special remote and that branch is checked out, syncing will
              import changes from the remote, merge them into the branch, and
              export any changes that have been committed to the branch back
              to the remote. See See git-annex-import(1) and git-
              annex-export(1) for details about how importing and exporting
              work.

       --content-of=path -C path
              While --content operates on all annexed files, --content-of
              allows limiting the transferred files to ones in a given
              location.

              This option can be repeated multiple times with different paths.

       --all -A
              This option, when combined with --content, makes all available
              versions of all files be synced, when preferred content settings
              allow.

              Note that preferred content settings that use include= or
              exclude= will only match the version of files currently in the
              work tree, but not past versions of files.

       --jobs=N -JN
              Enables parallel syncing with up to the specified number of jobs
              running at once. For example: -J10

              Setting this to "cpus" will run one job per CPU core.

              When there are multiple git remotes, pushes will be made to them
              in parallel. Pulls are not done in parallel because that tends
              to be less efficient. When --content is synced, the files are
              processed in parallel as well.

       --resolvemerge, --no-resolvemerge
              By default, merge conflicts are automatically handled by sync.
              When two conflicting versions of a file have been committed,
              both will be added to the tree, under different filenames. For
              example, file "foo" would be replaced with "foo.variant-A" and
              "foo.variant-B". (See git-annex-resolvemerge(1) for details.)

              Use --no-resolvemerge to disable this automatic merge conflict
              resolution. It can also be disabled by setting
              annex.resolvemerge to false.

       --cleanup
              Removes the local and remote synced/ branches, which were
              created and pushed by git-annex sync.

              This can come in handy when you've synced a change to remotes
              and now want to reset your master branch back before that
              change. So you run git reset and force-push the master branch to
              remotes, only to find that the next git annex merge or git annex
              sync brings the changes back. Why? Because the synced/master
              branch is hanging around and still has the change in it.
              Cleaning up the synced/ branches prevents that problem.

SEE ALSO
       git-annex(1)

       git-annex-preferred-content(1)

AUTHOR
       Joey Hess <id@joeyh.name>

                                                             git-annex-sync(1)