git-annex-sync






git‐annex‐sync − synchronize local repository with remotes


git annex sync [remote ...]


This command synchronizes the local repository with its
remotes.

     The sync process involves first committing any local
changes to files that have previously been added to the
repository, then fetching and merging the synced/master and
the git‐annex branch from the remote repositories, and
finally pushing the changes back to those branches on the
remote repositories. You can use standard git commands to do
each of those steps by hand, or if you don’t want to worry
about the details, you can use sync.

     The content of annexed objects is not synced by
default, but the −−content option (see below) can make that
also be synchronized.

     Note that syncing with a remote will not normally
update the remote’s working tree with changes made to the
local repository. (Unless it’s configured with
receive.denyCurrentBranch=updateInstead.) However, those
changes are pushed to the remote, so they can be merged into
its working tree by running "git annex sync" on the remote.




[remote]

     By default, all remotes are synced, except for remotes
     that have remote.<name>.annex−sync set to false. By
     specifying the names of remotes (or remote groups), you
     can control which ones to sync with.


−−fast
     Only sync with the remotes with the lowest annex−cost
     value configured.


−−commit, −−no−commit
     A commit is done by default (unless annex.autocommit is
     set to false).

     Use −−no−commit to avoid committing local changes.


−−message=msg
     Use this option to specify a commit message.









                             ‐2‐


−−pull, −−no−pull
     By default, git pulls from remotes. Use −−no−pull to
     disable all pulling.

     When remote.<name>.annex−pull or
     remote.<name>.annex−sync are set to false, pulling is
     disabled for those remotes, and using −−pull will not
     enable it.


−−push, −−no−push
     By default, git pushes changes to remotes.  Use
     −−no−push to disable all pushing.

     When remote.<name>.annex−push or
     remote.<name>.annex−sync are set to false, or
     remote.<name>.annex−readonly is set to true, pushing is
     disabled for those remotes, and using −−push will not
     enable it.


−−content, −−no−content
     Normally, syncing does not transfer the contents of
     annexed files.  The −−content option causes the content
     of files in the work tree to also be uploaded and
     downloaded as necessary.

     The annex.synccontent configuration can be set to true
     to make content be synced by default.

     Normally this tries to get each annexed file in the
     work tree that the local repository  does not yet have,
     and then copies each file in the work tree to every
     remote that it is syncing with.  This behavior can be
     overridden by configuring the preferred content of a
     repository. See git‐annex−preferred−content(1).

     When a special remote is configured as an export and is
     tracking a branch, the export will be updated to the
     current content of the branch.  See git‐
     annex−export(1).


−−content−of=path −C path
     While −−content operates on all annexed files in the
     work tree, −−content−of allows limiting the transferred
     files to ones in a given location.

     This option can be repeated multiple times with
     different paths.


−−all −A
     This option, when combined with −−content, makes all









                             ‐3‐


     available versions of all files be synced, when
     preferred content settings allow.

     Note that preferred content settings that use include=
     or exclude= will only match the version of files
     currently in the work tree, but not past versions of
     files.


−−jobs=N −JN
     Enables parallel syncing with up to the specified
     number of jobs running at once. For example: −J10

     When there are multiple git remotes, pushes will be
     made to them in parallel. Pulls are not done in
     parallel because that tends to be less efficient. When
     −−content is synced, the files are processed in
     parallel as well.


−−resolvemerge, −−no−resolvemerge
     By default, merge conflicts are automatically handled
     by sync. When two conflicting versions of a file have
     been committed, both will be added to the tree, under
     different filenames. For example, file "foo" would be
     replaced with "foo.variant−A" and "foo.variant−B". (See
     git‐annex−resolvemerge(1) for details.)

     Use −−no−resolvemerge to disable this automatic merge
     conflict resolution. It can also be disabled by setting
     annex.resolvemerge to false.


−−cleanup
     Removes the local and remote synced/ branches, which
     were created and pushed by git‐annex sync.

     This can come in handy when you’ve synced a change to
     remotes and now want to reset your master branch back
     before that change. So you run git reset and force−push
     the master branch to remotes, only to find that the
     next git annex merge or git annex sync brings the
     changes back. Why? Because the synced/master branch is
     hanging around and still has the change in it. Cleaning
     up the synced/ branches prevents that problem.


git‐annex(1)

     git‐annex−preferred−content(1)













                             ‐4‐


Joey Hess <id@joeyh.name>