git-annex-sync

git-annex-sync(1)            General Commands Manual           git-annex-sync(1)



NAME
       git-annex-sync - synchronize local repository with remotes

SYNOPSIS
       git annex sync [remote ...]

DESCRIPTION
       This command synchronizes the local repository with its remotes.

       The sync process involves first committing any local changes to files
       that have previously been added to the repository, then fetching and
       merging the synced/master and the git-annex branch from the remote
       repositories, and finally pushing the changes back to those branches on
       the remote repositories. You can use standard git commands to do each of
       those steps by hand, or if you don't want to worry about the details, you
       can use sync.

       The content of annexed objects is not synced by default, but the
       --content option (see below) can make that also be synchronized.

       Note that syncing with a remote will not normally update the remote's
       working tree with changes made to the local repository. (Unless it's
       configured with receive.denyCurrentBranch=updateInstead.) However, those
       changes are pushed to the remote, so they can be merged into its working
       tree by running "git annex sync" on the remote.

OPTIONS
       [remote]

              By default, all remotes are synced, except for remotes that have
              remote.<name>.annex-sync set to false. By specifying the names of
              remotes (or remote groups), you can control which ones to sync
              with.

       --fast Only sync with the remotes with the lowest annex-cost value
              configured.

       --commit, --no-commit
              A commit is done by default (unless annex.autocommit is set to
              false).

              Use --no-commit to avoid committing local changes.

       --message=msg
              Use this option to specify a commit message.

       --pull, --no-pull
              By default, git pulls from remotes and imports from some special
              remotes.  Use --no-pull to disable all pulling.

              When remote.<name>.annex-pull or remote.<name>.annex-sync are set
              to false, pulling is disabled for those remotes, and using --pull
              will not enable it.

       --push, --no-push
              By default, git pushes changes to remotes and exports to some
              special remotes. Use --no-push to disable all pushing.

              When remote.<name>.annex-push or remote.<name>.annex-sync are set
              to false, or remote.<name>.annex-readonly is set to true, pushing
              is disabled for those remotes, and using --push will not enable
              it.

       --content, --no-content
              Normally, syncing does not transfer the contents of annexed files.
              The --content option causes the content of annexed files to also
              be uploaded and downloaded as necessary.

              The annex.synccontent configuration can be set to true to make
              content be synced by default.

              Normally this tries to get each annexed file that the local
              repository does not yet have, and then copies each file to every
              remote that it is syncing with.  This behavior can be overridden
              by configuring the preferred content of a repository. See git-
              annex-preferred-content(1).

              When remote.<name>.annex-tracking-branch is configured for a
              special remote and that branch is checked out, syncing will import
              changes from the remote, merge them into the branch, and export
              any changes that have been committed to the branch back to the
              remote. See See git-annex-import(1) and git-annex-export(1) for
              details about how importing and exporting work.

       --content-of=path -C path
              While --content operates on all annexed files, --content-of allows
              limiting the transferred files to ones in a given location.

              This option can be repeated multiple times with different paths.

       --all -A
              This option, when combined with --content, makes all available
              versions of all files be synced, when preferred content settings
              allow.

              Note that preferred content settings that use include= or exclude=
              will only match the version of files currently in the work tree,
              but not past versions of files.

       --jobs=N -JN
              Enables parallel syncing with up to the specified number of jobs
              running at once. For example: -J10

              When there are multiple git remotes, pushes will be made to them
              in parallel. Pulls are not done in parallel because that tends to
              be less efficient. When --content is synced, the files are
              processed in parallel as well.

       --resolvemerge, --no-resolvemerge
              By default, merge conflicts are automatically handled by sync.
              When two conflicting versions of a file have been committed, both
              will be added to the tree, under different filenames. For example,
              file "foo" would be replaced with "foo.variant-A" and
              "foo.variant-B". (See git-annex-resolvemerge(1) for details.)

              Use --no-resolvemerge to disable this automatic merge conflict
              resolution. It can also be disabled by setting annex.resolvemerge
              to false.

       --cleanup
              Removes the local and remote synced/ branches, which were created
              and pushed by git-annex sync.

              This can come in handy when you've synced a change to remotes and
              now want to reset your master branch back before that change. So
              you run git reset and force-push the master branch to remotes,
              only to find that the next git annex merge or git annex sync
              brings the changes back. Why? Because the synced/master branch is
              hanging around and still has the change in it. Cleaning up the
              synced/ branches prevents that problem.

SEE ALSO
       git-annex(1)

       git-annex-preferred-content(1)

AUTHOR
       Joey Hess <id@joeyh.name>

                                                               git-annex-sync(1)